AI image generator pricing (12 tools)
Of the 12 AI image generator services listed, 7 have a free tier and 2 say free-plan output may be used commercially (Leonardo.ai and Playground). The cheapest paid plan billed monthly is Krea Basic at $9/month. Prices as of .
Prices are from each vendor's official pricing page, checked on . This page has no affiliate links.
Only values shown on each vendor's official pricing page are listed. "—" means the page did not state it. Checked .
| Service | Cheapest plan (monthly) | Free tier | Plan usage limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Krea | $9Basic | 100 compute units/day. 1 concurrent generation. | 5,000 compute units/month |
Details
| |||
| Playground | $15Pro | 10 images per 3 hours (comparison table says 5). 3 credits/month. 2 downloads/day. | 75 images per 3 hours. 150 credits/month. |
Details
| |||
| Ideogram | $20Plus | 30 credits/week. Sign-in with Google, Apple or Microsoft only. Images are public. | 2,400 credits/month. Private generation. Unlimited slow-queue generation after credits run out. |
Details
| |||
| Canva (AI image generation) | $12Canva Pro, billed annually | Up to 20 uses/month of Standard or Premium AI tools (shared across all AI features). No Ultra AI access. | $144/year per person. Up to 200 uses/month of Premium AI tools, or up to 20 uses/month of Ultra AI tools. Standard AI tools do not count against the allowance (fair use applies). |
Details
| |||
| Adobe Firefly | — | Daily generation limits (no number stated) | — |
Details
| |||
| Freepik (Magnific) | — | — | — |
Details
| |||
| Google Gemini API image generation (Nano Banana / Imagen) | — | — | — |
Details
| |||
| Leonardo.ai | — | Yes | — |
Details
| |||
| Midjourney | — | — | — |
Details
| |||
| OpenAI Image API (GPT Image) | — | — | — |
Details
| |||
| Picsart | — | — | — |
Details
| |||
| Recraft | — | Credit amount not stated. 3 image uploads/day. Generated images are public. | — |
Details
| |||
Columns in the AI image generator table
- Free tier: what you get with a free account. Credit-based limits are written as the vendor states them.
- Cheapest plan: the lowest price billed month to month. Annual prices (per month) are on each service's page.
- API per 1,000 images: Pay-as-you-go developer pricing per generated image, billed separately from the app plans.
- Commercial use on free plan: Whether the official pricing or terms page says images made on the free plan may be used commercially. Blank if it does not say.
AI image generator pricing by service
- Midjourney pricing
- Canva (AI image generation) pricing
- Adobe Firefly pricing
- Leonardo.ai pricing
- Ideogram pricing
- Recraft pricing
- Krea pricing
- OpenAI Image API (GPT Image) pricing
- Google Gemini API image generation (Nano Banana / Imagen) pricing
- Freepik (Magnific) pricing
- Playground pricing
- Picsart pricing
Pricing tables for other AI tools
- AI Voice Generator Pricing
- AI Video Generator Pricing
- AI Transcription Pricing
- AI Writing Tool Pricing
- AI Chatbot Pricing
- LLM API Pricing
- AI Coding Assistant Pricing
- AI Translation Pricing
- AI Presentation Maker Pricing
- AI Search & Research Tool Pricing
Links marked "Affiliate link" pay us a commission if you subscribe. They do not change the order of the tables, which is sorted by price. Prices are as published by each vendor (most exclude sales tax and VAT). Check the vendor's page before you buy.
How this data is collected: Prices are read by hand from each vendor's official pricing page and stored with the date and source URL. Values we could not confirm there are left blank. Last checked .